Packing for the GORUCK Challenge

I will have a longer post on taking the GORUCK Challenge as part of Class 110 in Baltimore soon, but in the mean time I wanted to itemize out the gear I wore and carried with me in my GORUCK GR1.

Head

  • GORUCK TAC Hat
  • Patagonia merino wool beanie
  • Petzl head lamp

Upper Body

  • Patagonia Merino 3 midweight baselayer
  • Outdoor Research Radiant Hybrid pullover fleece midlayer
  • Brooks Infiniti II running jacket

Lower Body

  • Under Armour compression shorts
  • Under Armour EVO ColdGear legging
  • REI zip-off hiking pants

Feet

  • Injini CoolMax Toe Socks
  • Brooks Adrenaline ASR 7 shoes

Hands

  • Arc’teryx Gothic merino wool gloves
  • Firm Grip construction gloves

In the ruck

  • Under Armour Base 2.0 crew top
  • Injini CoolMax Toe Socks
  • Windstopper gloves
  • Patagonia Houdini jacket
  • Patagonia fleece beanie
  • 100 oz Camelback
  • Food: 2 Clif Bars, 3 packs of Peanut M&Ms, 4 Clif Gel Shots, 2 5 Hour Energies
  • GORUCK Brick Bag (containing food & dry clothes in separate ziplock bags)
  • 6 bricks wrapped with duct tape, saran wrap & bubble wrap and suspended to the top of the ruck with velcro tape

Of the food I brought, I only ate 2 of the Gel Shots and one pack of Peanut M&Ms. I never had a chance to change into any of my dry clothes. I also realized early on that packing my food in the Brick Bag, at the bottom of my ruck, was a big mistake. It should have been much more accessible. I refilled my Camelback once along the way.

In hindsight, I probably would have packed less clothing – maybe only extra socks – and taken less food. Less is more and in the end I probably carried 2+ pounds of stuff for 12 hours that I had no need for at all. Alternatively, I could have swapped these extra things out for beer, as Advanced Cellular Repair Technology was a welcome addition to as the Challenge went on…

3 thoughts on “Packing for the GORUCK Challenge

  1. […] eventually decided on a water resistant set of gear that would hopefully dry quickly once wet, but still be breathable enough to keep me cool if I got […]

  2. James Guanzon says:

    Congrats Matt! i’m newly patched GoRUCK Light #115. I’m ready for the Challenge now. You are right, the hardest part is signing up…

    Embrace the SUCK!

Leave a Reply

