Reading List

I’m headed to Japan next week for ten days and I’ve got quite a library going on my Kindle app on my iPad and iPhone. I continue to work through Rick Perlstein’s tome on Barry Goldwater, Before the Storm. I’m also just starting Yves Smith’s Econned: How Unenlightened Self Interest Undermined Democracy and Corrupted Capitalism. I just got Matt Taibbi’s new book, Griftopia: Bubble Machines, Vampire Squids, and the Long Con That Is Breaking America. I think Econned and Griftopia are going to be the last books I read on the 2008 financial collapse for a while. Lastly, I joined President Obama and Oprah and most other Americans who still read novels and picked up Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom. I haven’t started it yet, but it will probably be the first thing I aim to complete on my trip to Japan. I’ve read a lot of non-fiction lately and even when reading well-written, fast-paced non-fiction, it’s nice to mix in fiction from time to time.

Leave a Reply

