A random cardio workout

I’m training for GORUCK Ascent 2012. My emphasis is really on building up leg strength, cardio and practice going long ways under a weighted ruck. Here’s a sample cardio workout from this morning.

Warmup
1 mile of stairs with 40# ruck
1 mile forced ruck march with 40# ruck
1 mile sprint (no ruck)
Cool down & finishing PT

My finishing PT varies, but today was four sets of pull-ups to failure and hanging straight leg raises to failure.

My biggest concern besides getting fit for Ascent is to not injure myself in training. I’ve read a number of articles recently which emphasize doing forced ruck marches rather than running under a weighted ruck. I’ve done quite a bit of running under a 40-50 lb ruck over the last six months and it certainly can be tough on the knees (and ankles and IT band…). A fast paced march is definitely easier on the joints, though I don’t get the same cardio intensity from it. For me, the forced march pace is 15 minute miles. I’m a big, still fairly slow guy and sprinting a mile is around eight minute mile pace in this workout.

This put me through a pretty decent cardio workout. My heart rate varied from 160-170 BPM throughout and everything I was wearing ended soaked through with sweat, including my GR2. I like mixing things up, but this is one I’ve done a couple times now and it’s good to get the practice going up under weight, while mixing in a bit of running too. It’s one of my less complex workouts, but sometimes simple is good.

I’ll check in from time to time with other random workouts for my Ascent training. Each is just a snapshot in time, not a program in itself, so its usefulness to a reader is probably pretty limited.

2 thoughts on “A random cardio workout

  1. [...] My emphasis is really on building up leg strength, cardio and practice going long ways under a weighted ruck. Here's a sample cardio workout from this morning.bloggerhamlin.wordpress.com/…/a-random-cardio-workout/ [...]

  2. adamprowse says:

    Cardio exercises are the best for the weight loss and fitness purposes. These cardio exercises burn the fat more effectively and control the cholesterol level which lead to healthy heart.
    The more effective cardio exercises are jogging, running, swimming,cycling, and jumping a rope.

    workout in maitland

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

